Meet The Pharmacists


Janet Thames, PharmD

Janet Thames graduated from the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy in 2000 with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree.  She began her pharmacy career with Palmetto SeniorCare as a geriatric pharmacists.  In 2005, she became owner of Blythewood Pharmacy.  In addition to specializing in geriatric pharmacy and delivering Medication Therapy Management to her patients, she also has become nationally certified in immunization delivery, education, and training.  She has served as an adjunct professor with the South Carolina College of Pharmacy (SSCP) for 10 years.  She is a current member of the South Carolina Pharmacist Association, South Carolina Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists, and the South Carolina Society of Consultant Pharmacists.  She is also a proud member of the National Community Pharmacists Association. Her patients at Blythewood Pharmacy are very special to her and she loves serving the Blythewood community.


Candy Mullenix, RPh

Candy Mullenix graduated from the University of Iowa in 1982 with a B.S. in Pharmacy. She has lived in South Carolina since 1986. For 10 years she worked with Lexington Family Practice Pharmacy in Lexington, SC. She also briefly worked with Stadtlanders Pharmacy and CVS. She has been with Blythewood Pharmacy since March 2003. She loves working with the patients in Blythewood. As a pharmacist, she feels very lucky to practice in such a great environment.

Mike Ross, RPh
J. Michael (Mike) Ross graduated from the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy in 1976 with a BS degree and now specializes in the practice of community pharmacy. He started Blythewood Pharmacy in September of 1981 and opened its current location in 1986. In his time as a pharmacist, Mike has been strongly active in the profession including positions held on the Board of the Carolina Pharmacy Network and the Christian Pharmacist Fellowship International. He is a member of the National Community Pharmacist's Association and the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists. In addition, Mike Ross was elected as President of the SC Pharmacy Association for the 2000-2001 term and voted SC Pharmacist of the Year in 2001. In 2009 Mr. Ross received the Bowl of Hygeia Award which recognizes pharmacists across the nation for their outstanding service and dedication to their communities. Mike continues to serve the community of Blythewood and works two days a week at Blythewood Pharmacy.